Tags

, ,

I lingered in bed a bit late on the first day of the year. It is raining and cold outside and my duvet is so warm and my Std. Poodle, Ava snuggled nearby. I glance at the clock to see it is almost nine, which for me, qualifies as getting up late. I finally slide out of bed and head down stairs to make my first cup of tea of the new year. I grab my I pad and head right back to bed.

When I open my I pad cover, the first thing I see is that I have 74 new emails. Really? 74 already? It is suddenly clear what my New Year’s resolution will be. I need to lighten my life. And I am going to start with my email box. I scroll through the emails, most of which are trying to get me to buy something. One by one I open the emails and hit the ‘unsubscribe’ button. No more Joss and Main, Serena and Lily, Heifer International, Fab, Ralph Lauren, Chanel, and nearly a dozen more.

Of course, they don’t want you to unsubscribe, so it can take a bit of searching through all the minuscule print at the bottom. One site made me enter all the information I might have to enter if I wanted to sign up, to then say don’t send me anything.

So there it is, the first step in lightening my life—less email to sort through every day.

Did you make any resolutions? I’d love to hear about them!

